prophilosophy

Professional philosophy news

Thought (the journal) has a blog

In an effort to encourage focused discussion of papers published in Thought (the Northern Institute of Philosophy‘s journal specializing in short papers), the editors have begun a blog. Thus far the only discussion thread is of Jonathan Jenkins Ichikawa‘s (UBC) paper “Knowledge Norms and Acting Well”. Brian Weatherson (Michigan), the subeditor for epistemology, has encouraged others to start threads on papers published in their areas. (Thanks to a reader for the link.)

What do readers think? Would you be inclined to visit the blog to see the discussion of a paper you’ve read? If so, would you participate? Would you be inclined to read a paper so as to participate in a discussion on the blog?

2 responses to “Thought (the journal) has a blog

  1. Anonymous October 2, 2012 at 2:19 am

    I think it’s a good idea. I don’t know that I’d go out of my way to read a paper just because I could comment on a blog about it, but for papers I did read I’d be likely to visit a blog and join in a discussion on them.

  2. Anonymous October 2, 2012 at 2:29 pm

    I would be more inclined to read a paper that I know will have a discussion dedicated to it. After all, I do that all the time in reading groups — that is, read things I wouldn’t have read otherwise.

Reply

