prophilosophy

Professional philosophy news

The Huffington Post wrestles with divine hiddenness

and its relation to Eric Clapton. Here.

One Saturday morning while browsing at a Hi-Fi store with my father, I came across a TV playing Eric Clapton live in concert. As strange as it sounds, I experienced a crisis of faith while surrounded by TV screens. Philosophers call it “the problem of divine hiddenness.” I wanted to know: How am I supposed to relate to a God I can’t see, touch or hear? Why isn’t God present the way Clapton is present? Why doesn’t He have a grunge band and give concerts at the Key Arena?

4 responses to “The Huffington Post wrestles with divine hiddenness

  1. Anonymous June 7, 2012 at 8:28 pm

    I feel as though I’m missing something. Is the author of the HuffPo piece a professional philosopher? I’m not really seeing how this is relevant to philosophy or professional philosophers. Is prophi going to be posting every example of pop culture philosophy that comes up? If so, lets get some Simpsons (or other funny cartoons) clips up.

  2. Anonymous June 7, 2012 at 8:33 pm

    Clapton is God, you fool.

  3. Anonymous June 7, 2012 at 9:50 pm

    I think it’s interesting when non-philosophers think about philosophical problems, as long as they’re not complete idiots. So I don’t mind seeing posts like this. Bring on the Simpsons!

    • Anon June 8, 2012 at 12:48 pm

      The problem is that there’s no good way of deciding which pop culture stories get reported and which don’t. It seems like it makes the site a little less professional, but I won’t complain any more if others are okay with it.

      p.s. I’m also the one who complained about the Kim Kardashian story that was reported on here.

Reply

