prophilosophy

Professional philosophy news

Tenure track hiring numbers, redux

Yesterday’s post on tenure-track hires and postdocs prompted a lot of interest, and several calls for more fine-grained analysis. David Marshall Miller (Duke) draws ProPhi’s attention to one such analysis that he has undertaken; it can be found here. Miller’s data spans five six years of job reports from the Leiter Reports hiring threads. Among other things, Miller separates postdocs from TT hires, and corrects for double-counting.

So far for the 2011-2012 year, ProPhi has been notified of 40+ tenure-track and postdoc appointments that were not posted to Leiter’s thread. It is likely that similar gaps appear in past Leiter Reports hiring threads. Miller is aware of this, and says,

I do not plan on updating this year based on new data, so as to keep the data source uniform. (I will make corrections if I mistook a postdoc for a tt job, for instance.) However, I encourage others to use the spreadsheet for their own purposes. Part of my motivation was to show a proof of concept, so that a more authoritative entity could take on something like this.

4 responses to “Tenure track hiring numbers, redux

  1. Carolyn Dicey Jennings June 5, 2012 at 10:18 am

    I think it is cool that David put this together in such a transparent and easy to digest fashion. I think it is uncool that he failed to mention my name or work anywhere, given that he is just improving on my work. That is, unless, he came up with the idea to do this himself without first consuming my report.

    • David Marshall Miller June 5, 2012 at 12:19 pm

      Carolyn,
      I think your work is very cool, but I did do this independently. (In fact, I was Anon 1:49 over at your original post on Smoker, where I gave some preliminary numbers.) Also, your analysis goes into much greater detail about the people getting jobs. Mine is about the institutions.
      In any case, I think all this analysis is useful, and I’m glad we’re able to show that it can be done.
      One other thing: it’s six years of placements.

      • Carolyn Dicey Jennings June 5, 2012 at 3:42 pm

        Fair enough. I am going to try and use some of your work on past years in the next analysis.

  2. Anonymous June 5, 2012 at 5:51 pm

    This is very good. And it seems like it should be single most important factor in ranking a department — the number of TT hires its graduates are able to get per capita. I think it would be, if departments would give out such information. Then we wouldn’t have to rely on “reputational surveys”, just raw numbers. But of course, it’s in many departments interests not to do that.

    Carolyn, I take your project to be importantly different. Whereas David’s helps someone decide where to go to school if they want a job, yours helps them decide what to do while in school to get a job, given the school they’ve chosen.

Reply

